i-am-your-mom

For all things that truly matter . . . to the five of us.

Monday and Tuesday Shows were thumbs up all ‘Round September 26, 2007

Filed under: Television and Movies — davissn30 @ 10:27 am

the reaper Starting with The Reaper, which probably had the most buzz of these shows. Kevin Smith directs! The guy from The Loop stars! Okay, maybe not so much buzz on Bret Harrison. But I do think the show lived up to the hype. It was v funny, with funny bits that weren’t in the promos (hell hounds, that dude’s eyebrows). And I like the casting of the chick from Heroes who could change her appearance. Plus, Ray Wise was super fantastic as the Devil. I am amazed at how they did the lighting in such a way to make his blue eyes glow with glee/evil. He hasn’t freaked me out so bad since Twin Peaks (Bob . . . [shiver]). But beyond all that, the show had some serious drama moments: it was, dare I say, even poignant. Who knew Bret had it in him?

NUP_105782_0766Now to another show about an accidental hero with bits of action, comedy and a wee bit of drama: Chuck. Also quite good. Not sure I buy him as a nerd — he is pretty darn cute. But he is at least awkward. Fun note: I read somewhere that Bret tried out for this show too. I guess there is just a small group of very cute 20 somethings who can play Nerd Superhero in LA. Anywhos, this now has a season pass.

The other new show I watched was Journeyman. Also good. Yes, it’s a bit like Quantum Leap, but oh so much messier. [Spoiler alert] Dead girlfriend whose not so dead? Angry wife who is/was jealous of dead girlfriend before and after her alleged death. Messy episodic stories–who knew when he saved that guy’s life, he have to undo it 10 years later. I was hoping I could choose between Chuck and Vorenus [that was Kevin McKidd’s character in the HBO show for everyone who isn’t Liz. don’t worry, kids, he doesn’t travel back to ancient Rome on the new show.], but so far I am sticking with both. Not sure about the old season pass for this one, but it’s going to get at least a few more viewings.

And a shout-out to returning favorites. HIMYM was in top form. My favorite part was when Barney tried to get Ted to go to Montreal so they could get “Cirque du So Laid”. Ahh, Barney, how I’ve missed you these months. And Heroes was excellent. Sark. He alone would have made my night. (Though why he always gotta be British. Dude is from Oregon. And he’s 27, which is unrelated to the British thing but crazy.) And, though the show was a bit draggy, the last 3 minutes made it legen (wait for it) dary. So an additional thumbs up to NBC for having 3 great shows on Monday night.

Tonight is a big night though. In order of my excitement level: Dirty Sexy Money, Bionic Woman, Private Practice, Life, Kid Nation (I jest, I jest).

[Eds. note: So I guess it’s Reaper not “The” Reaper. How could I make such a huge blunder? I must have an obsession with definite articles. I recently got excoriated for writing “the BFG Partnership” in a motion instead of “BFG Partnership.” So shut my mouth and call me Suzie.]

[Update: So the IAYM editorial board decided it would be a better use of our time to rewatch HIMYM than to suffer through Dancing with the Stars or ‘Til Death on Wednesday night.  And I must report that Barney said they were going to hang out with acrobats from Montreal to get Cirque de So Laid.  No trips to Montreal were planned.  I apologize for the oversight.]

 

2 Responses to “Monday and Tuesday Shows were thumbs up all ‘Round”

  1. bellabaise Says:

    Hey – for tonight you left out Gossip Girl! How could you?? SERIOUSLY! Also – I totally would have caught the “The” if I knew anything about Reaper. It is my job in real life to catch this stuff Suzie.

  2. davissn30 Says:

    Bella, Gossip Girl is not premiering tonight so I didn’t include it. Also, THE CW shows GG on Sundays, so I am DVRing it then. The 9 o’clock hour was just too full.


Leave a comment