i-am-your-mom

For all things that truly matter . . . to the five of us.

Kids these days August 23, 2007

Filed under: signs of the apocalypse,Television and Movies — davissn30 @ 2:02 pm

I always get a little annoyed when I hear how “rough” kids have it these days because there is so much “pressure” on them to do well.  Whatevs (I thought).  These kids have it easy.  Parents at their beck and call, internet, video games, cell phones.  It’s a virtual kid’s paradise these days.  [I can say all this since it is now scientifically proven that I am almost an Old Woman.]  I mean, remember back in the day when your mom said, “I’m picking you up at 3:45” and even if you were done at 1:30 or wanted to stay until 5, you had to meet her at 3:45 because there was no way to get in touch with her.  I mean, how did we manage? 

Well, my view has totally changed in the last few days.  First, there is the news that CBS’s reality show Kid Nation is now facing charges of child endangerment.  Here’s what happens when kids stop being cared for by their parents and start getting real.  As in real burnt by grease while cooking for themselves, really rushed to the hospital after drinking bleach, and really working 14 hour days.  (FYI, lesson to new parents: kids are dumb.  Ex. 1: They will leave bleach in an “unmarked soda bottle.”  Ex. 2: At least four of them will drink it.  How do suppose that went: “Eww, gross.  This burns a lot going down.  Taste it.”)

But, hey, those kids deserve it, right?  I mean, they are stupid enough to have parents stupid enough to sign them up for a reality show that takes places in New Mexico in the summer where there will be no adults.  Then, I got pictures of my nephew going off to his first day of school.  No hidden reality cameras here (aside from my sister’s).  No irresponsible parent signing waivers.  No bleach.  But if this pic isn’t a sign that the poor kid has a tough road ahead of him, I don’t know what is. 

Updated:  My sister requested that I clarify that my nephew had “school supplies for the whole year” in the backpack (as well as all his hopes and dreams — hey, there must be room for those in there too).  No confirmation yet about whether he will be carrying a smaller backpack for the rest of his first grade year.  Or whether there is a good pediatric chiropractor in his town. 

Further Update and Clarification from my sister: “Um, that IS a ‘smaller backpack’!  Have you looked in the school supplies area in Target lately?  They’re all ENORMOUS.  Take heart, however:  [he] carries a pocket folder with a few pieces of paper, a t-shirt for fitness, and perhaps a notebook, small book, or show-and-tell item in his backpack each day.  Hardly a cause for a chiropractic appointment.  Not to mention that they’re quacks.”

Eds. note: Comments made by readers of this blog do not necessarily reflect the views of management.  Management has chosen not the enter the doctor v. chiropractor debate. 

 

3 Responses to “Kids these days”

  1. Molly (aka "my sister") Says:

    Oh, SURE! You’ll blog to your adoring throngs that I’ve weighed my kid down with a monster backpack, but you won’t enter a doctor v. chiropractor debate?!? Wimp. [evil laughter]

  2. bellabaise Says:

    I still think they have it easy. I mean CELL PHONES?! PUHLEASE.

  3. Molly (aka "my sister") Says:

    iamyourmom, you are such a trendsetter. look what was on Yahoo!’s “front page” today: http://shopping.yahoo.com/articles/yshoppingarticles/47/. nevermind about that lonely world. . . .


Leave a Reply

